Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants (commonly abbreviated DUII) is considered a felony under Oregon State law when the accused person has been previously convicted of two prior DUII charges within a ten-year period before the date of arrest. Recent changes to the Oregon State DUII statute expand felony status to the third arrest/ten-year criteria.
As the name implies, felony arrests include harsher sentencing guidelines than first- and second-offense charges. These can include, pursuant to a judge’s discretion, jail sentences of a minimum 90 days ranging up to five years, followed by a three- to five-year period of probation. In addition, felony DUII convictions impose a mandatory, permanent revocation of Oregon state-issued driver’s license privileges. Those convicted of felony DUII in Oregon also may not receive a hardship license.
Besides jail time and license revocation, felony DUII offenders must pay a monetary fine of no less than $2,000 dollars with a maximum fine of $125,000, though the actual dollar amount may range as high as $125,000. Judges base their assignment of jail time and fines upon the circumstances surrounding the arrest. Those convicted of a felony DUII must also register for and attend substance abuse and victims’ impact seminars.